Rescue profile

Hope For Podencos

Verified

A UK registered charity (registered 2025) rehoming Podencos from Spain, with a quoted adoption fee that the rescue says covers care, preparation and transport.

Key facts

Rehomes from
Spain
UK regions covered
Not stated
Adoption fee
£420–£760 — £760 for the UK; a reduced fee of £420 may apply to selected dogs aged 10+ or with ongoing medical conditions
As published

Taken from the rescue's own website, checked 26 October 2026. Rescues change their fees, so confirm the current price with them before you pay anything.

Transport frequency
Not stated
Home check
virtual
Rehomes to homes with cats
Case by case
Rehomes to homes with children
Not stated
Rehomes without a garden
Case by case
Post-adoption support
The rescue says it will check in a few days after arrival and that it has 'a network of people that can help with any training or behaviour issues'.
Fee includes transport
Yes
Charity number
1212896
Charity register check
Registered charity (checked 26 October 2026)

Hope For Podencos is listed on the Charity Commission register for England and Wales as "Hope For Podencos UK" (no. 1212896, registered 10 April 2025). The rescue says it works with a Spanish network that rescues and rehabilitates Podencos, and that it rehomes them to adopters including in the UK. Its website gives a Hertfordshire address.

The fee and what it covers

According to its adoption page, "Our adoption fee covers the care, preparation and transport of your dog". The fees listed are:

  • UK: £760
  • EU: €705
  • Spain: €395 "(if no transport required)"
  • Rehome: £340/€395 "(if no transport required)"

The rescue says the fee "Includes veterinary care/treatment, vaccinations, microchipping, neutering (where appropriate), blood analytics and disease testing, documentation, transport, and a collar and harness."

It also says: "Selected dogs aged 10+ or with ongoing medical conditions may have a reduced adoption fee of £420/€310". This profile therefore shows a range of £420 to £760 for the UK.

On payment, the rescue says: "Payments are usually made in two parts — 50% on reservation and 50% on contract signing. We can also offer payment over multiple months if needed." The pages we read did not state refund or cancellation terms for adoption fees. The rescue's separate refunds policy says it applies to online shop purchases.

How the process works

The rescue's adoption page describes these steps: an online application (the rescue says it aims to respond "within 3 working days"), an initial call, sometimes a second call, then a home check "from one of our volunteers". The application page says the home check is "completed virtually" to check "the safety and security of a Podenco inside the house and garden (if relevant)".

The application page also says applicants must be over 18 and describes adoption as "a lifetime commitment".

Who they rehome to

The rescue says it does "not do blanket approaches, and takes each application on it's own merit", adding "we've adopted to flats and even house boats before". On cats, it says living with cats is "definitely more than doable" and that it can cat test dogs "if needed". We did not find a general statement about children on the pages we read; individual dog listings may give their own requirements, so check the listing.

Transport

The rescue says: "We provide all passports and travel documentation and transport to you (DEFRA process)", and that dogs travel in a martingale collar with a free GPS dog tracker (subscription required). It says adopters are added to a group transport thread with other adopters. We did not find a published transport schedule.

After you adopt

The rescue says it will "check in a few days after your pod arrives" and that "HFP are always here to support you, and have a network of people that can help with any training or behaviour issues". It also says "Full rescue back up is provided for every adoption" and that it has "foster teams in place should the need arise to rehome your podenco".

Details verified 26 October 2026 from the rescue's own website and the Charity Commission register, to the best of our knowledge. Fees and policies change, so always confirm directly with the rescue.

Collecting your dog: what the rules say

Rescue dogs come into Great Britain under commercial import rules. The government's Animal and Plant Health Agency (APHA) says a commercially imported dog must be delivered to the address on its import paperwork, not collected from a public place such as a car park or service station, and must then stay at that address for at least 48 hours. Whichever rescue you adopt from, ask where and how your dog will be handed over before the day.

More in our transport day guide →

Sources

Before you apply

Guides for these countries

Details verified 26 October 2026, to the best of our knowledge. Policies and fees change, so always confirm with the rescue directly. Something out of date? Let me know.