Rescue profile

Project Galgo

Verified

A UK registered charity (registered 2022) that brings Galgos and Podencos from Spain to UK foster homes before adoption, with a published adoption fee of £750.

Key facts

Rehomes from
Spain
UK regions covered
England, Wales, Scotland, Isle of Wight
Adoption fee
£750 — £750 for a Galgo or Podenco (the rescue also lists £800 for a Saluki from Bahrain). The rescue says it does not ask adopters to cover the full cost of bringing a dog to the UK. A Brucella Canis test, from approx. £100, is payable separately by the adopter.
As published

Taken from the rescue's own website, checked 27 October 2026. Rescues change their fees, so confirm the current price with them before you pay anything.

Transport frequency
Not stated
Home check
both
Rehomes to homes with cats
Not stated
Rehomes to homes with children
Not stated
Rehomes without a garden
Not stated
Post-adoption support
The rescue says it offers "a free behavioural support package for 3 months after adoption" via two of its trustees.
Fee includes transport
Not stated
Charity number
1197487
Charity register check
Registered charity (checked 27 October 2026)

Project Galgo is listed on the Charity Commission register for England and Wales as charity no. 1197487 (registered in January 2022). According to its website, it is "a UK registered charity dedicated to the rescue, rehabilitation and rehoming of Galgos, Podencos, Salukis and other sighthounds", working "alongside trusted rescue organisations in Spain and the Middle East". The rescue says it is "run entirely by volunteers" and that it does not rehome dogs outside the UK. Its Saluki dogs come from Bahrain, which is outside the countries this site covers; this profile concentrates on its Spanish dogs.

The fee and what it covers

According to its adoption page, the rescue's adoption fees are "£750 for a Galgo or Podenco and £800 for a Saluki". The rescue says this "includes the purchase of the dog's Project Galgo safety kit and the purchase or 3 month loan/use of a Tractive GPS tracker for the first three months". It says that for senior dogs aged 10 and over it offers "a reduced adoption fee, which is considered on an individual basis".

The rescue also publishes a typical cost breakdown for each Galgo and Podenco, which lists:

  • adoption fee paid to the Spanish shelter: £250–£300
  • DEFRA-approved transport to England/Wales, including documentation: £500 (£550 to Scotland)
  • Project Galgo safety kit: £60
  • Tractive GPS Tracker: £59–£69
  • one-year Tractive subscription: £120
  • Brucella Canis test: from £100

The rescue says this adds up to "approximately £989–£1,099" per dog, and that "we do not ask adopters to cover the full cost of bringing a dog safely to the UK". It says it meets the shortfall through fundraising. The page does not say in a single sentence whether the £750 fee is intended as an all-in price that includes transport, so this profile records that field as not stated. It also says the Brucella Canis test "is payable separately by the adopter", starting from approximately £100 and varying by vet practice.

On timing, the rescue says that for a dog travelling directly from Spain the fee "must be paid in full on the day the adoption is confirmed, or in advance of their journey where requested", and that for a dog already in UK foster it requires "the signed adoption contract and full adoption fee within 24 hours" of verbal confirmation. It says that in exceptional circumstances it can accept the fee in two consecutive instalments.

Who they rehome to

  • Where: the rescue says it rehomes "throughout the UK, including England, Wales, Scotland and the Isle of Wight". It says its foster homes are across the country and adopters "must be willing to travel to the dog's foster home to meet them before adoption".
  • Gardens: the rescue says that "if your property has a garden, the fencing must be appropriate for the individual dog" and that for many dogs it requires "fencing of approximately 6 feet", with exceptions assessed individually. It says it does not accept electric or sheep-wire fencing. It does not state a policy on homes without a garden.
  • Hunting homes: the rescue says "we do not rehome our dogs to households where dogs are used for hunting".
  • Equipment and training: the rescue lists a mandatory safety kit (an approved three-point escape-proof harness, a house collar with tag and a lead) and says dogs must wear a Tractive GPS tracker "for at least the first three months following adoption". It also says it does not permit crates, retractable leads, slip leads or aversive training equipment. The adoption form says all dogs must stay on lead for the first six months, and some for life.
  • Children and cats: the adoption page does not state a policy. The adoption form asks whether children visit the home regularly and whether the applicant owns cats.

The process

The rescue says the process is: an application, a homecheck, confirmation of the outcome, a discussion of suitable dogs, and then confirmation of the adoption once the agreement is signed and the fee paid. It says the homecheck "will either be carried out by a volunteer visiting your home or, where appropriate, via video call", and that it will also require identification. It says it cannot reserve a dog on the basis of an application alone.

The rescue says that dogs are tested for Mediterranean and vector-borne diseases in Spain, and that dogs with a Leishmaniasis diagnosis are adopted under a "Leishmaniasis Disclosure and Care Agreement". It also says all adopters are "required to arrange annual 4DX tests". See our guides for general background on health checks for imported dogs, and ask the rescue about the specifics for your dog.

The rescue's website does not state how often its dogs travel from Spain.

After you adopt

The rescue says: "Following adoption, we offer a free behavioural support package for 3 months after adoption via two of our Trustees". It also says that if you are unable to continue caring for your dog, it asks you to "contact us to make arrangements for the dog to come back into foster care with us".

Charity status

Project Galgo's website shows "Registered Charity 1197487". We found a matching entry on the Charity Commission's register for England and Wales (registered 13 January 2022, checked 27 October 2026).

Details verified 27 October 2026 from the rescue's own website and the Charity Commission register, to the best of our knowledge. Fees and policies change, so always confirm directly with the rescue.

Collecting your dog: what the rules say

Rescue dogs come into Great Britain under commercial import rules. The government's Animal and Plant Health Agency (APHA) says a commercially imported dog must be delivered to the address on its import paperwork, not collected from a public place such as a car park or service station, and must then stay at that address for at least 48 hours. Whichever rescue you adopt from, ask where and how your dog will be handed over before the day.

More in our transport day guide →

Sources

Before you apply

Guides for these countries

Details verified 27 October 2026, to the best of our knowledge. Policies and fees change, so always confirm with the rescue directly. Something out of date? Let me know.